Miso Ramen Cooking Class

Miso Ramen Cooking Class with Mac and Nahoko

Following the sell-out success of their previous online cooking classes, Maction Planet is proud to announce a new Online Interactive Miso Ramen Cooking Class and Talk Show on 6 December 2020 featuring Mac, Founder and Lead Guide of Maction Planet, and Nahoko from At Home with Nahoko Cooking Classes.

On 6 December 2020 (JST), Mac and Nahoko will hold a very special online Miso Ramen cooking class. Together, they will teach you how to make Miso Ramen using ingredients you can easily obtain where you live.

What is Miso Ramen?

Ramen (ラーメン) is Japan’s favourite noodle. Originally imported from China, the ‘noodles in soup with toppings’ dish has blossomed into a multitude of regional variations.

One such variant is Miso Ramen. Miso Ramen was created in Hokkaido, the northern island of Japan. The miso creates a thick, hearty soup with a deep, complex flavour. It is a perfect meal for a winter’s day.

Traditional miso ramen toppings include sweet corn, butter, and bean sprouts.

One of the highlights of this class will be learning how to make ramen FROM SCRATCH. We’ll also teach you have to construct your broth from the ground up PLUS how to make ajitama – the delicious ramen seasoned egg.

Sign me up!

Two sessions will be held: 09:00 JST and at 19:00 JST to cater to your time zone.

09:00 JST:

  • New York/Toronto: 19:00 (5 December)
  • Los Angeles: 16:00 (5 December)
  • Sydney: 11:00

19:00 JST:

  • London: 10:00
  • Paris/Berlin: 11:00
  • Hong Kong/Singapore: 18:00
  • Sydney: 21:00

The class will last around 3 hours and is limited to 20 groups per session.

Readers of this blog and followers of Maction Planet social media can book direct for ¥3990 per group. Email us at info@mactionplanet.com to take part. 

After booking, we’ll send you details of the ingredients and utensils you’ll need for the class.

Entertaining and Educational

Nahoko started Japanese cooking classes for foreign travellers to Tokyo three years ago, and since then has taught over 250 students from all over the world. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, she has recently switched to hosting online classes via Zoom which have proven to be extremely popular.

Mac will talk about Japanese food culture and share many stories about life in Japan, bringing his expertise on Japanese culture, history, food and drink, baseball, sumo, music… As Nahoko says, “Even I am constantly learning from him and I am from Japan!”

This is an interactive class, different from anything on Instagram Live or YouTube. You will be able to converse with Mac and Nahoko during the class. You can ask us questions about Japan and your cooking during the class. All of the participants can show each other their Miso Ramen. We will all be saying ‘itadakimasu‘ and eating our Miso Ramen at the same time.

The prior classes have proven extremely popular. Here is a Tripadvisor review from Karen in London, UK, who joined our Chirashi Sushi cooking class on 6 September:

Maction Planet Cooking Class Tripadvisor review

Fun and delicious! You can feel like you are in Tokyo. Don’t miss it!

Email info@mactionplanet.com to take part in this special online Miso Ramen cooking class.

Maction Planet runs bespoke Private Tours and Experiences in Tokyo, and beyond. To book yours, or to purchase a gift card, contact us at info@mactionplanet.com

You can subscribe to the Maction Planet newsletter below, and follow all our adventures on FacebookInstagramTwitterLinkedInPinterestMixcloud and YouTube.

Leave a Comment